Paypal Email Scam

Yet another scam email trying to get you to give away your Paypal log on details. Please do not click links in these emails. Paypal will never ask you to click a link in an email and will instead ask you to go to paypal.co.uk or paypal.com and log in there. If you hover your mouse pointer (don’t click) over the link in the email you should reveal the real address that link would take you to.

The email will look very genuine and include the Paypal graphics.

Here is an example of such a scam email :

Dear PayPal member,

PayPal is constantly working to ensure security by regularly screening the accounts in our system.We recently reviewed your account, and we need more information to help us provide you with secure service.Until we can collect this information, your access to sensitive account features will be limited. We would like to restore your access as soon as possible, and we apologize for the inconvenience.

Why is my account access limited?

Your account access has been limited for the following reason(s):

We have reason to believe that your account was accessed by a third party. We have limited access to sensitive PayPal account features in case your account has been accessed by an unauthorized third party. We understand that having limited access can be an inconvenience, but protecting your account is our primary concern.

Click here to remove your limitation (link removed for obvious reasons)

If we do not receive the appropriate account verification within 24 hours, we will assume your account is fraudulent and will be suspended.

Feel free to contact us with questions through the Contact link at the bottom of any page.

Sincerely,

The PayPal Privacy and Compliance Team